• boundlessbr

Stormi's Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly


Reviewer Purchase Publisher: Random House Delacorte Released: October 27th 2015 Genre: YA, Historical Fiction Length: 498 pages Format: eBook, Paperback, Hardcover, Audio Add to Goodreads Buy Links

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo Author Links

Website | Facebook | Twitter Synopsis

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.

Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly. Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.

The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth.

But now it might be too late to stop. The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all. Five Boundless Stars

Josephine, a young woman from an upper class family, finds herself swept into the much different world of the lower classes when her father dies and the mystery surrounding his death becomes too much for her to ignore. Along her journey for the truth, she finds out a bigger secret may be behind his death and the death of others. Will she find out the truth? And to what lengths will she go to uncover it? I have to say I chose this book because of the cover. Ive always been a book reader, but I always base my first interest in a book off the cover alone. So I chose this book and found myself swept into a mystery world of the past. This book was very well written and was full of history, action, and mystery. It really is a great book start to finish. I really enjoyed it. It was definitely worth the read!!


© 2015 by Boundless Book Reviews Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Google+ B&W